Skip to content ↓

Buckingham Palace to Bentley Bike Ride

Ian Hobbs, the fabulous Route Master and Tessa Laughton, organiser extraordinaire, worked for months pulling together a fabulous team of 29 brave parents and friends of the school to embark on a 57 mile cycle from Buckingham Palace back to Bentley. 










Saturday morning dawned bright and clear and the team started gathering at the school at 6.15am.  Having waved goodbye to Mrs Pinchess at 6.32am, Yann Dubreuil and Colin Sarling drove all our cyclists in the two school minibuses up to Buckingham Palace.

Chris Day from Mack Logistics kindly transported all the bikes to London and at 8.41am they were all ready  to set off on the long journey home!

West Molsey - 16 miles in - was the first planned stop.  They reached it an hour later than planned at 11.30am but everyone was still on fine form and enjoying it the ride. Andrew Rae and Gill Ormond were waiting for them with tea, coffee, flapjacks and ice lollies - a very welcome sight as the day was already blisteringly hot!

It was 2pm before our fabulous team arrived at Brookwood for lunch.  Andrew and Gill were once again great support bringing lunch, more drinks, filling up water bottles and handing out ice lollies to our very, very hot cyclists.  They had covered 35 miles and were definitely in need of a little break. 

They set off once again for the last stretch and at 5.15pm our intrepid cyclists all arrived at Bury Court where they were met by friends of the school on their bikes to escort them back to school for a very welcome BBQ and several drinks!  They had cycled 57 miles in scorching heat in just eight and a half hours - everyone made it back, all safely and all very tired but in great spirits.

The amazing effort, enthusiasm and support of ...

Ian Hobbs 

Tessa Laughton 

James Aston

Jo Beardsley 

Jonny Boston

Finley Brown – former pupil

Karen Brown 

Russ Brown

Sully Brown – former pupil

Briony Cavell

Claire Hobbs

Mike Kennett 

John Mansfield

Syreeta Mansfield

Sam Mizen 

Sacha Moore

Alison Morris

Peter Morris 

Richard Myers

John Ormond 

Martin Pratt

Oscar Pratt – former pupil

Ed Pinchess 

Emma Price 

Rob Price

James Stanley 

Stephen Tarrant

Staff cyclists

Sam Kirby – (1st year!)

Sonia Siers – (2nd year!)

...raised almost £3,000 in sponsorship.  We are incredibly proud and incredibly grateful to each and every one of them!